Hari Moong Dal Khichdi
Hari Moong Dal Khichdi, also known as Chilka Moong Dal Khichdi, prepared with Chilka Moong(Hari Moong), also known as Split Green Moong Lentil, cooked with rice in very limited spices and desi ghee(preferably). A one pot satvik meal(no-onion no-garlic) that is free from heavy spices and masala or oil.
- 1/2 Cup Basmati Rice
- 1/2 Cup Split Green Moong Lentil/Hari Moong Dal
- 1 tsp Cumin Seeds
- 1/4 tsp Asafoetida/Hing
- 1/2 tsp Turmeric Powder/Haldi
- 1-2 tbsp Desi Ghee
- Salt as per taste
Wash and soak rice and dal separately. Soak at least 10-15 minutes.
Switch on the Instant Pot on SAUTE MODE fro 5 minutes. When the display shows HOT, add ghee, when the ghee is hot enough add cumin seeds and asafoetida.
Add turmeric powder. Drain water from rice and dal. Add to inner pot, saute for a minute.
Add water around 3 times for thinner consistency. For thick consistency add 2 cups or as per the quality of rice and dal. Add salt.
Cancel the SAUTE Mode and set the PRESSURE COOK Mode with time 7-8 minutes.
Once the timer goes off, release the pressure after 3-4 minutes, with QPR.
Check for the doneness of rice and lentils. Serve hot with some desi ghee along with salad and dahi/yogurt preparation of your choice,
If the consistency is thick then add more water if needed and saute for 2-3 minutes.
To cook on Pressure Cooker on Stove-top
Heat pressure cook on medium flame, add ghee, when the ghee is hot enough, add asafoetida, cumin seeds and turmeric.
Drain water from rice and dal and add to the cooker. Add salt and water and mix well.
Cover the lid of cooker and cook khichdi for 4-5 whistles on medium flame. Switch off the gas and let the pressure go off automatically.
Open the lid and check for the doneness of rice and dal, serve hot.
Adjust the consistency of khichdi as per your liking. If thick add water, if runny, cook on medium flame till it gets desired consistency. Take care not to burn it at the bottom of pan.
- Avoid Asafoetida for gluten-free version.
- For Vegan version you can omit desi ghee, though studies have shown that Desi ghee can be consumed by lactose intolerant people as the % of dairy is very less in it.Though it is an animal product, it can also be conveniently consumed by vegans. You can check your resources before consuming it.